Google Pinyin & Sogou Pinyin (谷歌拼音和搜狗拼音輸入法)

by Weedy Tan   on May 26, 2014

I have been using the Google pinyin input method to key-in Chinese characters into my computer whenever I need to type in Chinese (both Traditional and Simplified Chinese characters) under Windows XP and Windows 7 OS for years.

Recently, I bought a new computer with Windows 8.1 OS and Google pinyin input method started giving me an error warning whenever I used it in conjunction with the open source Computer-Aided Translation (CAT) tool OmegaT. For details, see my other blog CAT Tool “OmegaT” and “Java(TM) Platform SE binary has stopped working”regarding this problem.

I tried a lot of possible solutions to overcome this problem of Google pinyin‘s incompatibility with Windows 8 or 8.1 64-bit system without success even after searching thoroughly on the internet.

Through my numerous readings, I learned that there was an allegation of copyright infringement against Google using the database of one of its competitors in China, Sogou Pinyin.

With that, I researched more about Sogou pinyin input method (搜狗輸入法 – http://pinyin.sogou.com/) and after installing its latest version 7.1 (released date 2014.04.24), I noticed that it works almost exactly the same as Google pinyin (latest stable released version 2.7.22.120 dated 2012.08.16). For reference purpose, the first Sogou pinyin was released on June 5, 2006 while that of Google pinyin was on April 4, 2007.

I have tried Sogou pinyin input method with OmegaT and I did not encounter any error warnings so far.

I am happy with this result and will continue to use Sogou pinyin input method instead of Google pinyin from here on.

 

 

2 Comments

  1. I see we are fellow users of 搜狗 and OmegaT! The combination works great but a few years ago an update in one or the other caused Sogou Pinyin to be unable to start entering text when the cursor isn’t already inside the text area of the active segment. Pity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

